🥇 Top Rated Eye Level Learning Centers In The World - Book a FREE Assessment Today.
Eye Level NY Logo
Eye Level & Common Core

Eye Level & Common Core

If you have a child in grades K-12, chances are you’ve heard about the Common Core Standards. Forty-five U.S. states and the District of Columbia have formally adopted the standards. As schools begin to incorporate the program there is much to be understood and discovered about the process and expectations. Here are answers to questions you might have about the standards and what they could mean for your children.

The Common Core State Standards Initiative is a state-led effort that created a single set of educational standards for kindergarten through 12th grade in English language arts and mathematics. The standards are designed to be robust and relevant to the real world, reflecting the knowledge and skills students need for success in college and careers.

Here are similarities between the elements of Eye Level and the Common Core:

Learning Goals

With over 40 years of experience, Eye Level is internationally benchmarked and contains the elements essential for studying end of high-school level math and advanced literary texts such as Shakespeare. The Common Core aims to be internationally benchmarked, has a broad array of learning goals and shares many core competencies such as proficiency in advanced algebra and understanding Shakespeare.

Grade Level Material

Studying material above grade-level is the essence of the Eye Level Program. Instructors aim for each student to reach and advance beyond their grade level material to experience the full benefits of the program. Through advanced study Eye Level builds the math and reading skills necessary to succeed in any program or standards-based curriculum.

Critical Thinking

Eye Level instills in students the skills and mindset for learning materials they have not encountered yet without being taught. As students build a strong foundation by mastering math and English language arts basic skills, students also build critical thinking by analyzing example problems on the worksheets and reading difficult passages. A fundamental goal of Eye Level is to develop in students the ability to think logically and learn independently, which is at the heart of developing critical thinking skills.

Eye Level is the only program in the world that has its own separate Critical Thinking curriculum. Critical Thinking Math enables students to develop depth perception, problem solving, reasoning skills, and covers the following study areas which are all part of the common core standards: Patterns and Relationships, Geometry, Measurement, Problem Solving, and Reasoning.

As schools begin to implement the Common Core Standards, its true impact on education as a whole will not be known for several years. While school curriculum and national standards may change from time to time, Eye Level’s philosophy and academic goals remains constant. Eye Level fosters in students the skills and confidence to study any school curriculum and become a life-long learner.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Share this post with your friends